Schedule of Readings and Lectures

 

Introduction

Monday, January 4


 

ROME AND THE CHRISTIAN WEST

As background to this section you should read A History of World Societies, pp. 143-173. The textbook will not be discussed in class, but you will be responsible for it on the final exam.

 

The Roman Empire under Augustus

Wednesday, January 6


    ❉ Course Reader pages 1-6: Suetonius, The Twelve Caesars (optional)
    ❉ Course Reader pages 7-9: Augustus, Res Gestae
    ❉ Course Reader pages 10-22: Ovid, The Art of Love

 

Jesus: The Sacred Biography

Friday, January 8


    ❉ Bible: The Gospel According to Mark (click here for PDF)
    ❉ Burton L. Mack, “On Redescribing Christian Origins” (click here for PDF) This essay is important for writing your papers. It will be discussed in your sections, but not in lecture.

 

Jesus the Jew

Monday, January 11


 

The Creation of Christianity

Wednesday, January 13


 

Roman Responses to the New “Superstition”

Friday, January 15


    ❉ Course Reader pages 23-25: Tacitus, The Annals
    ❉ Course Reader page 26: Ignatius of Antioch, Letter to the Roman Churches
    ❉ Course Reader pages 27-33: “The Passion of SS. Perpetua and Felicitas”
    ❉ Course Reader page 34: “Eusebius on Constantine’s Conversion”

 

Martin Luther King Day

Monday, January 18


 

Augustine, Doctor of the Church

Wednesday, January 20


    ❉ Course Reader pages 35-45: St. Augustine, The Confessions

 

The Art of Courtly Love

Friday, January 22


    ❉ Course Reader pages 46-70: Andreas Capellanus, The Art of Courtly Love

 

ISLAM

As background to this section you should read A History of World Societies, pp. 232-265. The textbook will not be discussed in class, but you will be responsible for it on the final exam.

 

The Roots of Islam

Monday, January 25


 

Muhammad and Revelation

Wednesday, January 27


    ❉ Course Reader pages 71-77: Michael Cook, “Life”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 78-94: Ninian Smart and Richard Hecht, eds., “Islam,” pp. 125-141

 

The Teachings of the Qur’an

Friday, January 29


    ❉ Course Reader pages 95-111: Ninian Smart and Richard Hecht, eds., “Islam,” pp. 142-158

 

The Umma in History: From Caliphs to Sultans

Monday, February 1


 

Love of Woman; Love of Man; Love of God

Wednesday, February 3


    ❉ Course Reader pages 122-144: Ibn Hazm, The Ring of the Dove

 

Midterm

Friday, February 5


 

INDIA

Unfortunately, A History of World Societies does not provide adequate background reading for this section. To refresh yourselves on India in general, you can look at the textbook, pp. 69-85, 343-346.

 

Hindu Dharma: A Play of Surfaces

Monday, February 8


    Kāma Sūtra, pp. 3-21

 

Everything You Wanted To Know About Sex, and More

Wednesday, February 10


    Kāma Sūtra, pp. 25-57

 

No Class

Friday, February 12


 

Presidents Day

Monday, February 15


 

The Duties of a Wife

Wednesday, February 17


    Kāma Sūtra, pp. 61-87

 

The Pantheon of Hindu Gods

Friday, February 19


    ❉ Course Reader pages 145-153: “Eternity and Time”

 

Medieval Buddhism: Some Eyewitness Accounts

Monday, February 22


    ❉ Course Reader pages 154-165: Fa Hien, A Record of Buddhistic Kingdoms
    ❉ Course Reader pages 166-175: Xuanzang, Buddhist Records of the Western World

 

Mahayana Buddhism: Institutional and Social Developments

Wednesday, February 24


 

Mahayana Buddhism: Doctrinal Developments

Friday, February 26


    The Heart of Understanding

 

CHINA

As background to this section you should read A History of World Societies, pp. 174-201. The textbook will not be discussed in class, but you will be responsible for it on the final exam.

 

China Revisited, From the Han to the T’ang

Monday, February 29


    ❉ Course Reader pages 185-190: “Ge Hong’s Autobiography”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 191-193: “Cultural Differences Between the North and the South”

 

Chinese Court Life: Beauty and Exoticism

Wednesday, March 2


    ❉ Course Reader pages 194-198: “Tu Kuang-t’ing”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 199-202: “Emperor Taizong on Effective Government”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 203-206: “The Tang Legal Code”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 207-210: “The Examination System”

 

Sex: The Best Medicine of All?

Friday, March 4


    ❉ Course Reader pages 211-222: “Medical Manuals and Books for Householders”

 

Buddhism Comes to China

Monday, March 7


    ❉ Course Reader pages: 223 “The First Monk, the First Temple,, and the Emperor Ming”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 224-231: “Buddhist Doctrines and Practices”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 232-235: Mou Tzu, “The Disposition of Error”

 

 

Confucian Responses to the Exotic

Wednesday, March 9


    ❉ Course Reader pages 236: “Memorial on the Bone of the Buddha”
    ❉ Course Reader pages 237-240: “What is the True Way”

 

Conclusion

Friday, March 11


 

FINAL EXAM

Monday, March 14, 11:30 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.


 

 

 Posted by at 8:09 pm